◄bck  |  nxt►  |  ancient  |  ▼now

  I am Jack's Dodger blue blood  |  April 26, 2005  |

I secretly HATE it when I hear Jack Buck's call of the 1988 Kirk Gibson homerun that won game one of the world series. To me, the perfect encapsulation of that moment is Vin Scully's call -- "In a year that has been so improbable, the impossible has happened" -- not Jack Buck's "I don't believe what I just saw!" Scully's words are beautiful, true, and eloquent -- Buck's are ordinary, robotic, and pedestrian.

There are moments in life that are unforgettable -- and we have but one defining image of them -- a perfect meld of words and events -- Cronkite announcing Kennedy's death -- The Hindenburg disaster -- and Gibson's homerun. I still get choked up with I hear Scully's call -- and still cringe when I hear Buck's.

Jack

◄bck   |  nxt►   |  ancient   |    twitter   |  ▼now
 You have been reading Jack's collection of cathartic thoughts

hosted by DiaryLand.com