◄bck  |  nxt►  |  ancient  |  ▼now

  I am Jack's favor policy  |  April 26, 2005  |

I secretly hate it when people ask me to do them a favor -- When I hear the words, "can you do me a favor," I get a shiver up my spine -- I try my best to get out of doing the favor. Sometimes I'll try to convince the person that they don't need my help, for whatever reason -- Anything that will help me get out of having to do the favor.

I make it a point to NEVER ask anyone for a favor because of how it makes me feel. When I feel the need to ask someone for a favor I feel horrible -- that I'm imposing my problems on someone else -- and I hate that. I never want to be a burden to anyone -- so I try my best not to bother people with my problems. Yet, I find that often times those I don't want to impose on find it easy to ask me for favors -- and that's when I shiver.

Because some people will expect the world when they ask you for a favor -- they'll put you down for not doing something right -- meanwhile it's a favor. I think doing someone a favor means doing the least that is obligated -- it doesn't mean sticking my neck out, or practically bending over backwards. I know in the times I've had to ask for favors the person did the least thing they had to do -- which I understand -- but then they turn around and expect YOU to bend over backwards.

Jack

◄bck   |  nxt►   |  ancient   |    twitter   |  ▼now
 You have been reading Jack's collection of cathartic thoughts

hosted by DiaryLand.com